What Will Happen to the Family Farm?

February 7, 2018

The question of what happens to the family farm is often riddled with many emotional opinions.  So much so, that families may not communicate effectively about their wishes or plans.  Many life events can change the dynamics of a family farm.  Whether marriage, children, divorce, illness, retirement or death, significant events can require a plan or a change in the transition plan.  Planning in advance of a crisis or significant life event increases the chances that the family farm will successfully transition to someone who is ready to carry on the family business.  Having a plan can also lead to clear communication that reduces the likelihood of family conflict and stress.  Yet, four out of five Florida farmers do not have written estate plans.

You can take steps to protect your family and your family farm by attending one of the University of Florida IFAS Extension’s workshops on “Ag Saves:  Preparing for your farm’s financial future”.  This workshop will help you ensure that your wishes are honored when the time comes.

You and your partners are invited to learn together how to:

  • Discuss the future of the farm
  • Assess your future financial needs
  • Talk with local experts in financial planning, estate planning, and taxes

Join us for this complementary program on February 21, 2018.  Lunch and materials will be provided.  Program sponsors include UF/IFAS Extension, U.S. Trust, Pacific Life, and Merrill Lynch.

Registration will begin at 8:30 a.m. Central Time/9:30 Eastern Time

Program will begin at 9:00 a.m. Central time 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time and conclude at 1:00 p.m. Central Time 2:00 pm. Eastern.

Register Online: http://bit.ly/2AOv0JC

 

Registration deadline: February 14, 2018

Choose from 3 Dates and Locations in Northwest Florida: 

  • Okaloosa County Extension Office (host site)

3098 Airport Road

Crestview, FL 32539

850-689-5850

         Jennifer Bearden: bearden@ufl.edu

 

  • Jefferson County Extension Office (satellite site)

2729 W Washington HWY

Monticello, FL

850-342-0187

        Julianne Shoup: juliannes@ufl.edu

 

  • Gadsden County Extension Office (satellite site)

2140 West Jefferson Street

Quincy, FL

850-875-7255

         Laurie Osgood: osgoodlb@ufl.edu

 

Register online at  http://bit.ly/2AOv0JC  or contact Jennifer Bearden at bearden@ufl.edu for more information.

Copyright ©2018 The Good Country. All Rights Reserved